If you were pulled over for drunk driving in Texas, you have a very limited window of time to take action. What you do (or don’t do) in the days following a DWI arrest could significantly impact your driving privileges in the future, so don’t wait to contact an attorney about your case.
3 Steps You Can’t Afford to Miss
- Contact a DWI defense attorney as soon as possible. If you were arrested for drunk driving, one of the first things you’ll need to do after you’re released from custody is find a DWI lawyer. An attorney can investigate your case to determine the best defense strategy moving forward. In some cases, you may be able to reach a favorable plea bargain.
- Request an ALR Hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety. If you refused or failed a blood or breath test, you have only 15 days to request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. Failure to comply within this 15-day window could result in suspension of your driver’s license (anywhere between 90 days and 2 years).
- Obtain an Occupational License. If you fail to make an ALR hearing or you forget to make one, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended or revoked. In such cases, you will need to start the process of getting it reinstated. An Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) will allow you to legally operate your vehicle under certain conditions. You will need to file a petition for an ODL specifically stating your reasons for the request; an affidavit supporting the ODL will also be required.
Penalties You’ll Want to Avoid
In Texas, DWI penalties are subject to the person’s age and license type. If an accident resulted from the DWI, the degree of injury or death that resulted may also be taken into consideration. Even for first-time offenders, the penalties of a DWI conviction can be harsh, including:
- Fines, surcharges, and court fees
- Driver’s license suspension or revocation
- Possible imprisonment
- Mandatory community service
- Attendance at DWI education / prevention programs
- Potentially increased insurance rates
Protect your rights and future freedoms after a DWI arrest by contacting a Hidalgo County DWI lawyer at The Law Office of Rene A. Flores PLLC. Your first phone consultation with a member of our team is completely free of charge. Call (956) 606-3606 to get started.