Commercial Drivers & DWI in Texas

If you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and you were recently arrested for a DWI in Texas, not only does a conviction result in fines, driver’s license suspension related to your personal vehicle, and even jail time, but you may also be disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle for a specific period of time – or permanently. Without a valid CDL, you cannot earn a living and support yourself and your family. 

The truth is that commercial drivers are held to a higher standard in comparison to civilian motorists. For instance, while having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent can lead to a DWI arrest for regular drivers, a CDL holder can get arrested for having a BAC of at least .04 percent. 

According to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS), a first conviction of an alcohol-related offense (such as DWI), felony offense, or leaving the scene of an accident is punishable by CDL disqualification for at least one year. However, if the offense involved a commercial vehicle with a placarded for hazardous materials, then a first-time conviction will lead to a disqualification period for at least three years.  

Lastly, a second or subsequent offense carries lifetime disqualification. However, the DPS may reinstate any driver with a lifetime disqualification after 10 years. 

Unfortunately, even if you regain your ability to drive, having a DWI conviction on your criminal record can show up on employment background checks and prevent you from getting hired. Trucking companies may be reluctant to hire you because of your past and to avoid liability in the event of an accident or another arrest. 

At The Law Office of Rene A. Flores, PLLC, we can protect your rights, freedom, and future when facing serious criminal charges and penalties. As a former prosecutor and Certified Lawyer-Scientist, Attorney Flores can listen to your story, thoroughly examine the facts and circumstances of your case, and help you either avoid conviction or reduce the charge/sentence you face. 

Do not wait to contact the firm today at (956) 606-3606 for a free initial consultation. Let us help you get back on the road and back to work. Serving clients throughout Hidalgo County. 

Categories